Bournville Village

Primary School

Get in touch

Contact Details

The Reception Curriculum

Our curriculum for the Foundation Stage reflects the learning aims and objectives set out in the Early Years Foundation Stage Statutory Framework combined with the Development Matters curriculum guidance.


There are seven areas of ‘Learning and Development’ that must shape educational provision in all early years’ settings. All areas of Learning and Development are important and inter-connected. Our children’s learning experiences enable them to develop competency and skill across these areas of learning. They require a balance of activities for children to develop effectively and to give them the best chance of obtaining a Good Level of Development at the end of their Reception Year.


Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.


The three Prime areas are:

  • Communication and Language
    • Listening, Attention and Understanding
    • Speaking
  • Physical Development
    • Gross Motor Skills
    • Fine Motor Skills
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
    • Self-Regulation
    • Managing Self
    • Building Relationships


Staff will also focus on teaching the ‘essential skills and knowledge’ in the four specific areas, which will help children prepare for year 1. Through these, the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.


Specific Areas:

  • Literacy
    • Comprehension
    • Word Reading
    • Writing
  • Mathematics
    • Number
    • Numerical Patterns
  • Understanding the World
    • Past and Present
    • People, Culture and Communities
    • The Natural World
  • Expressive Arts and Design
    • Creating with Materials
    • Being Imaginative and Expressive

Curriculum documents

Reception curriculum map